Castles and monasteries

Ludwig II. apparently knew exactly what he was doing when he built his famous castles in the enchanting landscape of Bavaria. The magnificent castles are magically nestled in the stunning scenery of the Bavarian mountains, as if it was never intended otherwise.


One world-famous cultural heritage is the castle of Neuschwanstein, the fairytale castle of an eccentric King, at the foot of the Alps, built on a rock, with stunning views of the Bavarian Alps and the Forggensee lake. It fascinates many visitors annually from around the world.


Linderhof was the only palace built by Ludwig II. that he lived to see completed in his lifetime. The magnificent castle with magnificent parks, arose from a royal Hunting Lodge that Ludwig II. had an emotional connection to from his youth it is less well known than the other castles of King Ludwig but just as impressive as Neuschwanstein.


No less interesting are Herrenchiemsee, which is located on the island of the Herrenchiemsee, and the Nymphenburg Palace in Munich. Both castles were as Neuschwanstein never quite finished, but still offer the visitor countless views, insights and impressions. The rococo decorations in Nymphenburg, for example, are considered the finest of its kind in Bavaria.


Apart from the palaces of the fairy king numerous other Bavarian castles and romantic ruins can be found. The monasteries of the country, especially Ettal are, because of its rich history and magnificent expansion always worth seeing. Frequently, in the rooms of the castles and monasteries there are exhibitions or art openings aligned, which makes the cultural monuments worth seeing twice.

Schlösser und Klöster

König Ludwig wusste offenbar genau was er tat, als er seine bekannten Schlösser in die bezaubernde Landschaft Bayerns setzte. Die prachtvollen Schlösser liegen märchenhaft eingebettet in der beeindruckenden Kulisse der bayerischen Bergwelt, als ob es niemals anders vorgesehen wäre.

Zu diesen weltbekannten Kulturdenkmälern zählt Schloss Neuschwanstein, das Märchenschloss des exzentrischen Königs. Am Fuße der Alpen, auf einem Felsen erbaut, mit traumhaftem Blick über den Forggensee und das bayerische Alpenvorland, bezaubert es jährlich zahlreiche Besucher aus aller Welt.

Schloss Linderhof war der einzige Schlossbau Ludwigs, den er noch zu Lebzeiten vollendet erlebte. Das prunkvolle Schloss mit prächtigsten Parkanlagen, entstand aus einem königlichen Jagdhof, zu dem Ludwig noch aus Jugendzeiten einen besonderen emotionalen Bezug hatte. Wie die anderen Schlösser Ludwigs, ist es zwar weniger bekannt, jedoch mindestens so eindrucksvoll wie Neuschwanstein.

Nicht minder sehenswert sind Herrenchiemsee, welches sich auf der Herreninsel im Chiemsee befindet, und Schloss Nymphenburg bei München. Beide Schlösser wurden, wie Neuschwanstein, nie ganz fertig gebaut, bieten dem Besucher aber dennoch unzählige Ansichten, Einblicke und Eindrücke. Die Rokkoko-Dekorationen in Nymphenburg beispielsweise, gelten als die schönsten ihrer Art in ganz Bayern.

Neben den Schlössern des Märchenkönigs findet man in Bayern zahlreiche weitere Anlagen, Burgen und wildromantische Ruinen. Auch die Klöster des Landes, allen voran Kloster Ettal, sind wegen ihrer traditionsreichen Geschichte und dem prachtvollen Ausbau immer sehenswert. Häufig werden in den Räumen der Schlösser und Klöster Ausstellungen oder Vernissagen ausgerichtet, was die Kulturdenkmäler doppelt sehenswert macht.